DAC Central KwaZulu-Natal Climate Change Compact

Posted in: News

CKZNCCCTo aid in the implementation of the DAC, a Central KwaZulu-Natal Climate Change Compact (CKZNCCC) was formed to facilitate information sharing and collaboration on climate change adaptation projects. As the metropolitan, district and local municipalities of central KwaZulu-Natal are signatories to the Durban Adaptation Charter they have committed themselves to take local climate action in their jurisdiction. It is recognised that a coordinated and collective action between these jurisdictions is however the most effective way to respond to climate change.

The CKZNCC was therefore established at an initial workshop on 28th February 2014 as a way forward to provide an ongoing forum through which participating municipalities can cooperate on reducing vulnerability in KZN communities and increase resilience of its eco and other systems. This will be done through:

  • Sharing information on both projected climate change impacts and best practice in responding to these projected impacts
  • Collaboratively developing locally appropriate responses to projected climate change impacts
  • Jointly responding to climate change relevant policy and legislation that is developed at a national and provincial level
  • Cooperating in the process of building internal climate change capacity amongst municipal staff and councillors
  • Networking with national and global bodies that can provide information, support and resources
  • Developing joint funding proposals for cross-boundary climate change response projects.

The second quarterly meeting of the Central KZN Climate Change Compact (CKZNCCC) partnership was hosted by Ugu Municipality at the House of the Rising Sun in Park Rynie on Friday, June 2014. This workshop provided municipalities with the opportunity to share their latest work on climate change and to learn from each other’s experiences.  The workshop was attended by representatives of the following municipalities: EThekwini Municipality, Msunduzi Municipality, Ugu Municipality, Umdoni Municipality, Hibiscus Coast Municipality and Ilembe Municipality. All participants endorsed the proposed partnership and agreed to formalise their institution’s involvement by sending the CKZNCCC Terms of Reference to their respective councils for approval by end August 2014 and committed to ensuring their Mayors support and agree to sign the Durban Adaptation Charter.

The various municipalities that have indicated that they intend to secure formal approval are: EThekwini Municipality, KwaDukuza Local Municipality, UMgungundlovu District Municipality, Msunduzi Local Municipality, Ugu District Municipality, Umdoni Local Municipality, Hibiscus Coast Municipality and ILembe District Municipality. Since then the Hibiscus Coast became the first municipality to get permission to join the CKZNCCC and Durban’s eThekwini Municipality is not far behind.

Recently, four members of the partnership attended a fully funded adaptation training workshop in Dhaka, Bangladesh. The participants returned from the course imbued with climate change knowledge and an action plan for implementation within their respective municipalities. EThekwini Municipality is also hosting a Climate Change Study Tour from the 8th -10th of October 2014 for surrounding municipalities to share in climate change knowledge and challenges, to establish a unified way forward.

There are no comments published yet.

Leave a Comment

Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options