Two CKZNCCC Municipalities Selected for Eco-Logic Award

Posted in: Uncategorized

Two Central KwaZulu-Natal Climate Change Compact Municipalities have been selected as finalists for the Eco-Logic Awards. The Eco-Logic Awards identify individuals, organisations and communities that positively contribute towards a sustainable world – and encourage consumers to purchase their products and services. The Enviropaedia established the Annual Eco-Logic Awards in 2011. These have since grown into South Africa’s most Glamorously Green eco-calendar event, receiving extensive TV, radio, print media and online coverage.

Ethekwini Metropolitan Municipality and uMgungundlovu District Municipality have been selected as finalist for the Eco-Logic Municipalities Award. EThekwini Municipality have been selected for their Durban Research Action Partnership (D’RAP) is a research partnership between the eThekwini Municipality (EM) and the University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN). Through the partnership, collaborative research is conducted within the eThekwini Municipal Area in a range of disciplines including environmental, biological, social science, governance and economics. This type of research reflects contemporary thinking that is essential for providing solutions to meet the needs of the world. The programme, through knowledge generation, aims not only to empower managers at eThekwini Municipality to make better biodiversity and conservation decisions, but also to build capacity of interns and university students.

UMgungundlovu District Municipality have been selected for their uMngeni Resilience Project, a five-year project that is funded by the Adaptation Fund. The National Implementing Entity overseeing the implementation is the South African National Biodiversity Institute (SANBI). The uMgungundlovu District Municipality (uMDM) is the Executing Entity responsible for implementation. The uMDM is working with strategic partners such as the University of KwaZulu-Natal’s School for Agriculture, Earth and Environmental Sciences (UKZN SAEES) who are responsible for implementing the climate-smart agricultural component and developing an agrometeorological system for seasonal forecasts for farmers.

Through an integrated adaptation approach, the URP aims to increase the resilience of vulnerable communities through interventions such as developing early warning systems, implementing climate-smart agriculture techniques amongst small scale farmers and climate proofing rural settlements. The URP has four components: Component 1: Developing early warning systems; Component 2: Climate-proofing human settlements and restoring ecological infrastructure; Component 3: Implementing climate-resilient agriculture with small scale farmers and Component 4: Capacity building and learning.


There are no comments published yet.

Leave a Comment

Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options